Opinion

Fri 13 Apr 2018

Why I’m proud to be a Pink Lady

Why I’m proud to be a Pink Lady

BEING diagnosed with breast cancer 14 years ago could have been a lonely experience. Instead I found comfort in being part of an incredible support network of...

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Are the Games really worth it?

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Are the Games really worth it?

VIDEO: How does the Commonwealth Games stack up against the Olympics, and is it truly worth all the hype?

Thu 12 Apr 2018

I took Zuckerberg’s advice and I regret everything

I took Zuckerberg’s advice and I regret everything

I CHECKED my Facebook data on Mark Zuckerberg’s advice, and discovered a most private trauma had been used as an advertising opportunity, writes Katy Hall.

South Burnett goes to the Games

South Burnett goes to the Games

Volunteers and our own golden girl Taliqua Clancy represent South Burnett at games.

What to think about before going guarantor

What to think about before going guarantor

IT MIGHT seem like the right thing to do, but being guarantor on a loan for a loved one can ruin finances and families.

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

To claim the present Aborigines are descendants of the first people to walk this land is folly and I believe the deliberate distortion of history.

Youth suicide: how can we offer hope to this generation?

Youth suicide: how can we offer hope to this generation?

RILEY Owen leaves behind a lot of people who supported him, who love him and who will miss him like crazy, writes former chaplain Stuart White.

SOAPBOX: A coward punch is a disgraceful act

SOAPBOX: A coward punch is a disgraceful act

AS AN eldest child, I'll admit in my teens I complained of over-protective parents, especially when I finally came of age and ventured out to night life venues.

Tue 10 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

I'M NOT surprised that Prince Charles declined to address an Australian Republican Movement meeting.

Mon 9 Apr 2018

James Weir reviews: Beaten beefcake’s humongous tantrum

James Weir reviews: Beaten beefcake’s humongous tantrum

TEMPER tantrums and collapses have started to dominate the Commonwealth Games. Athletes are falling under the strain — as is our recapper James Weir.

Are the Greens headed for extinction?

Are the Greens headed for extinction?

Gympie political commentator Colin Claridge thinks the Greens are an endangered species.

Fri 6 Apr 2018

‘It’s war’: Trump’s new obsession

‘It’s war’: Trump’s new obsession

DONALD Trump has picked a new target for his latest feud, ranting obsessively about it. This is why he’s so mad.

Thu 5 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

I WAS wondering when we were going to be subjected to more rantings from the preachers of left-wing Labor/Green garbage.

My never-ending NRL tipping nightmare

My never-ending NRL tipping nightmare

STRUGGLING with your tipping comp, going the opposite to my selections might help.

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

TO THE pensioners and retirees I have one question to ask "Do you trust Bill Shorten with your retirement savings?”.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

'Extraordinarily bad policy': Labor backflip not enough

'Extraordinarily bad policy': Labor backflip not enough

THE Easter Bunny arrived a few days early this year for around 300,000 low-income retirees.

Tue 3 Apr 2018

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

If you think that Shorten is going to get into the Lodge, you are sadly mistaken.

Why Facebook's model is incompatible with human rights

Why Facebook's model is incompatible with human rights

OUTRAGE is brewing over Facebook's admission to spying on people via their Android phones. Its stock price plummeted, while millions deleted their accounts.

The power of stillness in sport, in life

The power of stillness in sport, in life

As Commonwealth Games competitors know very well, finding stillness under pressure makes a difference to both our experience and our performance.

Why I've banned my visitors from using their smartphones

Why I've banned my visitors from using their smartphones

"A RECENT visit from old friends left me tearing out my hair ... it was so bad I had to flee my own house".

Newer Older